Tags

, , ,

“In the near future, humans have gone beyond simple space travel. By the year 4054, multiple solar systems are inhabited, and taking a spaceship is as commonplace as taking an aeroplane.

Unfortunately, not everything about the future is so advanced. The central planets, led by Earth, have risen high at the expense of cheap labour on distant worlds. Dissent is widespread and arrests are common. Sometimes prisoners are released; sometimes they disappear without a trace, sent to labour camps in other solar systems.

When Ames Emerys receives a letter telling him that his brother Callum has died en route to the remote planet of Kilnin, he takes the first ship he can off Earth, desperate for answers. But the secrets Ames uncovers prove far more dangerous than he could have imagined.

And trouble isn’t far behind.”

I got an ARC of this book.

Clearly I am a big fan of Crunden’s. I am almost done reading everything she has ever put out. Seeing her attempt at having a book with zero romance was something I was incredibly excited for.

She nailed it. This book didn’t need romance. The romance would have detracted from the bigger picture in this case. The family bond was the most important. Helping those you can, even if it isn’t easy is a much better focus than romantic love. I loved the banter between the characters. I loved how they helped each other and tried to be good people. Crunden does a great job of having underdogs that are easy to root for. I wanted them to win. I knew they were against insurmountable odds, but I just wanted them to win. I wanted to be there for every step of the fight.

I liked how the government being corrupt was a driving force. It made a lot of the plots make sense. Though it wasn’t fully explored. Having political prisoners and weird charges brought up against innocent people is horrifying. It makes a great start for this book. It made perfect sense. I just wish there was more.

My issue with this book is it was not long enough to really explore the plots to make them feel done. The mine happened so fast and with zero issue. Breaking into a military controlled prison wouldn’t be that easy. They just walked around and had pretty much no issue. It was weird. The action just wasn’t there.

But as always, Crunden delivers a queer norm world that I enjoyed.

undefinedundefinedundefinedundefined

3.5 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book.

You can buy the book here.
~Isaiah