Tags

, , ,

“Follow the adventures of two Brooklynites—Eve, a nerdy acerbic twentysomething and her roommate, Hanna, a long-lost friend who has blossomed into a chronically happy-go-lucky stoner. Crazed childhood rivals, art world hipsters, Eve’s meddlesome mom, and boyfriends past and present crowd their odd yet ordinary lives.

In the twilight zone between college and the adult world lies the sardonic, witty, maddening, and sometimes melancholy terrain that Meredith Gran’s addictive comic Octopus Pie maps with devastating, drop-dead-funny accuracy.”

This is one of those books I never would have read, but it was on the boyfriend’s book shelf and it was a comic when I wanted to read a comic. So I stumbled across this amazing read, just out of coincidence. This book is the fukken shit.

The plot of the book is seemingly random and fun. There is a deeper plot to all the shenanigans, but even if there were not the stories would still be really enjoyable. Eve is uptight, weird, and really adorable. Hanna is outgoing, a baker, and a stoner. They wouldn’t seem like they would mix, but they do really well. They really compliment each other in a way that I have not seen in a comic or in a book in a long time. I want them to be friends forever.

I want to read more of this comic. I just bookmarked it and I will read it all one afternoon.

This comic has enough silly to amuse me, but is serious enough that I don’t feel like it is ridiculous. It is a good mixture of silly serious that everything seems really fun. It is like Devil’s Panties funny and weird, but easier to follow.

5 out of 5 stars. I highly recommend this book.

You can buy the book here.

~Isaiah