Tags

, , ,

#1 New York Times bestselling author Laura Numeroff, author of the hugely popular children’s book If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, offers this hilarious parody of her own book for the man in your life.

If you give a man a cookie…he’s going to want milk to go with it…God forbid he should get it himself.

If You Give a Man a Cookie is a woman’s commentary about her helpless man and the chain of events that leads him on a journey from the bed to the bathroom to the couch and back to bed at nightfall”

30754972

I got an ARC in return for an honest review on NetGalley.

I really wanted to love this book. Overall, the book was just ok. I was impressed that the author the original If You Give a Mouse a Cookie was writing a parody of her own book. From the description it sounded like it was going to be more than it was. The book did not go as far as the books I remember from Numeroff. I might be remembering the books as longer than they were as I haven’t read them in a decent amount of time, but this felt too quick.

The description of the book led me to believe it was going to be a book that Women and Women’s First would  have had on hand. I didn’t expect it to go far enough to be like Hothead, but I wanted something more. I don’t have too much to really say, I guess my expectations were set too high for this book. The book itself isn’t bad, but I just didn’t fall in love.

I did like that the art made the story goofier than the words could have implied otherwise.

Untitled UntitledUntitled

3 out of 5 stars. I guess I would recommend this book.

You can buy the book here.

~Isaiah

