Tags

, ,

“Casper Gray goes to bed a happily married man.

He wakes up questioning whether everything is a lie.

Life in suburbia holds few surprises for Casper. He and his wife Jane are still trying for a baby after seven years. His neighbours have their quirks to be navigated. And his job as a high school teacher, while satisfying, comes with its challenges.

Every day is much like the one before that is, until Casper makes a discovery that threatens everything he knows…

As Casper ‘s fears grows into obsessions, his world starts to unravel.

Just Another Week in Suburbia is a story about love, trust, and insecurity, and the question of whether you can ever really know another person. ”

35842190

I got an ARC in return for an honest review on NetGalley.

The first issue I had with the copy of the book I had didn’t lower the rating. The formatting of the ebook was so atrocious that I had issues at first reading it. The paragraph would break suddenly in the middle of a sentence, there were random “m”s between paragraphs randomly, it was a mess. It might have changed how I read the book, but I tried to not let it influence my rating since that is technical.

The book felt distant and the dialogue was pretty terrible. The book felt like it was a watered down version of The Average American Male (or The Average American Marriage). The book never went far enough. I started to think the book was turning itself around when it came to the alcohol near the end, but even that fell short. The big twist, which to be fair was literally the entire plot screaming, was so weak. I called the ending from the very beginning. It was never a mystery. There was never any real need to keep reading.

I do have to give props to a few scenes that were very well done. There is a scene where Casper is pretty much spying on his neighbor and is masturbating (pretty much the most unexpected scene in the entire book and completely out of character for Casper). I felt like a creep with him. It is told in the first person so it felt like I was watching her. If the rest of the book could have come even close to that scene for emotion or integrating the reading into the character more, then I would have rated it higher even if I didn’t enjoy it.

There was very little that actually happened. It was just a lot of thoughts that were super repetitive, which fits the story line pretty decently. The repetition got on my nerves since it was broken up with passages that were completely out of character for Casper. It just fell flat. I wanted to like it. This is the sort of plot and description that really captures me and usually I can’t put the book down. This one just didn’t do it for me.

Untitled Untitled

2 out of 5 stars. I wouldn’t recommend this book

You can buy the book here.

~Isaiah

