Tags

, , , ,

By Kristin Cronn-Mills

“Sixteen-year-old Morgan lives in a hick town in the middle of Nebraska. College is two years away. Her mom was killed in a car accident when she was three, her dad drinks, and her stepmom is a non-entity. Her boyfriend Derek is boring and her coworker Rob has a very cute butt that she can’t stop staring at. Then there’s the kiss she shared with her classmate Tessa…

But when Morgan discovers that the one person in the world she trusted most has kept a devastating secret from her, Morgan must redefine her life and herself.” (Book Description via Good Reads)

Year Published: 2009

Review 7 cover

When I read and reviewed this book: April 2013

This book was definitely closer to four stars than three. Similar to what my friend Isaiah said, it was a well written book but the end wasn’t satisfying. The story didn’t feel finished yet. Too many rather important events were all piled on at the end of the story and it felt that some of them weren’t completely resolved.

As far as characters went , I thought that the main character, Morgan, was one of the best questioning characters I’ve seen out of all of the books I’ve read to date. She realistically considered that she could have been bisexual. I think this author wrote a very believable questioning character.

I also liked the set up of the different chapters being titled after the fortunes that Morgan’s grandmother collected as a traveling musician. I thought that part was neat.

My rating: 3.5 Stars

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6444812-the-sky-always-hears-me

