Tags

, , ,

by Chris Colfer

“Struck By Lightning: The Carson Phillips Journal follows the story of outcast high school senior Carson Phillips, who blackmails the most popular students in his school into contributing to his literary journal to bolster his college application; his goal in life is to get into Northwestern and eventually become the editor of The New Yorker. At once laugh-out-loud funny, deliciously dark, and remarkably smart, Struck By Lightning unearths the dirt that lies just below the surface of high school. At a time when bullying torments so many young people today, this unique and important novel sheds light with humor and wit on an issue that deeply resonates with countless teens and readers.” (Book Description from Good Reads)

Book was Printed: 2012

Review 4 cover

Book read and reviewed: January/February 2013

It should come as no surprise to you but I am also a fan of Chris Colfer. He’s a very talented writer as well as a talented actor and singer. Even so, this wasn’t my favorite of his books. I liked The Wishing Spell better.

I was actually very surprised how far he went with this book. It was very funny at times though I’m not sure how I felt about the main character, Carson. Sometimes I liked him (like when he was sweet to his grandma and to his friend, Malerie) and sometimes I didn’t like him (when he talked as though he were better than everyone else).

I would like to see the movie. It looks like it will be good. Chris playing Carson will certainly be interesting. 🙂

My rating: 3 stars

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15789823-struck-by-lightning

 

