Tags

,

The Chaos of Longing is a prose and poetry collection draped in raw honesty, ache, and eroticism. The collection explores trauma, love, heartbreak, and the realizations from it all.

The book is divided into four sections. “Inception” briefly examines formative years and its effects on how one loves. “Longing” reflects on love and sexuality. “Chaos” explores toxic relationships, unrequited love, and heartache. After chaos, there is order with self-love and healing poems in “epiphany”.

Some content may be triggering.”

30325231

I got an ARC in return for an honest review on NetGalley.

I am not the biggest fan of poetry. The poems have to be something special for me to considering putting the effort towards getting the book either buying it or finding it at the library. There are very few poets I would put that effort towards. The only effort I had to put forward was downloading this book, but from what I read I will gladly put effort into this author. I will look for her books. I will push people to read it. I will become a cheerleader for her success. She has won me over.

The poems ranged from identity to self-love. The poems are so deep and necessary. This is the type of poetry that I needed in high school and college when I started doing activist work. This is the type of poetry I needed when I moved across the country for a fresh start. This is the type of poetry I need now as I am trying to navigate the world. This book applies to so many people and experiences. There were poems that discussed being black that I could not relate to on a perfect match, but the feelings she had towards her skin brought up the feelings I have towards mine for being trans. The wording was so perfect and I couldn’t help but be impressed that she used “gentrified” in a poem that was about her own body.

There are many heavy topics covered. There is a lot of sexual themes, which I saw a bad review complaining about. I loved how frank the author was and how beautifully graphic she was. These were poems about having sex, these were poems about connections. These were poems about how bodies and love don’t always match. These are poems about only feeling loved when someone is there with you. These are poems about feeling like no one will love you unless you have sex with them. They aren’t about sex, they are about the complicated feelings that sex brings.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

5 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book!

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

