Tags

, , , , ,

“Blue is having a hard time moving on. He’s in love with his best friend. He’s also dead. Luckily, Hamal can see ghosts, leaving Blue free to haunt him to his heart’s content. But something eerie is happening in town, leaving the local afterlife unsettled, and when Blue realizes Hamal’s strange ability may be putting him in danger, Blue has to find a way to protect him, even if it means… leaving him.”

35833506

I got an ARC in return for an honest review on NetGalley.

I requested this comic because the few manga and comics I had read about ghosts that involved relationships had always been really interesting. This is top three of all the ghost books, comics, or manga I have read. It was that good.

The book focuses on the relationship between Blue and Hamal. Blue is a ghost that follows Hamal around. They became close after Blue died because Hamal was the only person around that could see ghosts. Blue and Hamal are surrounded by random other ghosts, which can cause issues for Hamal.

The story was so sweet. I was getting so worried when the major conflict of the book started. There was so much world that hadn’t been explained yet that anything could happen. Blue and Hamal don’t know how things work so the world wasn’t explained. It was a great build up. As they learned things or didn’t learn things, the reader did. It kept me guessing and it kept me enthralled. The lore of ghosts is so different between authors that I didn’t know where to go.

I loved the cutesy art. This is one of my favorite styles when it comes to part romance, part supernatural comics, manga, and graphic novels. I don’t know why. The cuteness helps soften the blow of the horror. There isn’t a focus on blood and gore with this style. Things seem more believable for some reason. Whatever it is, I love it.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

5 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

