Tags

, ,

“From the Eisner Award-winning creator of The Oatmeal and #1 New York Times bestselling author of How to Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting to Kill You comes this charmingly absurd gift book about man’s best friend.

In If My Dogs Were a Pair of Middle-Aged Men, Matthew Inman imagines, to hilarious effect, what life would be like if his dogs were a couple of old men running around his house. The result is a pitch-perfect gift for any dog owner.”

34536952

I got an ARC in return for an honest review on NetGalley.

I don’t have much experience with these comics. I have seen a few here or there, but I was never motivated enough to go and track down the site. I have a copy of Exploding Kittens that was gifted to me from a friend who thought the art was disgusting. I can see why she thought that. The art is very much a four year old boy human for most of it. I can do without another fart joke, thank you.

The premise was pretty amusing. I always imagine what my dogs would sound like if they could talk or what they would look like if they were human. It is a hobby that I take very seriously, which is why I needed to read this book.

The book itself is pretty funny. It shows how ridiculous it would be to have a dog be a person if their ages were proportional. I always imagine my dogs as teenagers or toddlers, never matching their real age. This book forced me to face that. I will stick with my much cuter version.

The book did make me laugh a few times, but what dropped the rating was the length and the price. I can’t justify paying as much for the book as the cover price for such a short book. It isn’t one that made me scream “I NEED THIS BOOK”. I might check out the website, but I probably won’t buy the book for myself. It may be a gag gift for the office’s white elephant party though.

 

UntitledUntitledUntitled

3 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book .

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

