Tags

, , ,

“Anonymous break up stories from men and women, old and young, serious and silly and the cartoons that inspired them. Author and artist Hilary Campbell turns the painful into the hilarious, validating emotions from forgotten middle school tragedies to relationships that ended only hours ago.”

31944977

I got an ARC in return for an honest review on NetGalley.

 

I have been on a comic kick lately. I have been craving a good, funny comic. This looked like it was exactly what I needed. It sounded like it would be depressing, dark, and a laugh riot. I looked forward to the art since the author/artist was described as being pretty fantastic.

I did not enjoy this book. There were hardly any illustrations. It was just break up stories. It could have been a click bait article off Buzzfeed or a million other sites that are always on a Facebook feed. I read the book in less than twenty minutes and I laughed maybe twice. I am the type of person that gets told I laugh too much on a regular basis. I literally will cry from laughter over a dog dreaming and kicking. I chuckled.

I was just really let down. I wanted to love this book, but it it didn’t live up to any expectations I had. If there were more drawings or something to make it different than a click bait article, then I could rate it higher. As it stands, I feel like I wasted twenty minutes reading it.

Untitled

1 out of 5 stars. I would not recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

