Tags

, , ,

All the world’s a stage . . . but life doesn’t come with a script.

Posh boy Tristan Goldsmith has one last summer of freedom before he joins the family firm in New York—no more farting around on stage, as his father puts it. But the classically trained actor can’t resist when the Shamwell Amateur Dramatics Society begs him to take a leading role in their production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. As an added incentive, he’ll be giving private acting lessons to a gorgeous local handyman who’s been curiously resistant to Tristan’s advances.

As a late-diagnosed dyslexic still struggling with literacy, Con Izzard’s never dared to act before. With arrogant yet charming Tristan helping him with his lines, he finally has his chance to shine. But Con’s determined not to start a romance with a man he’s convinced only wants a casual fling.

Tristan’s never been one to back down from a challenge, especially when he realises his attraction to the tall, muscular handyman isn’t just physical. Just as he thinks he’s finally won Con’s heart—and given his own in return—disaster strikes with a slip of the tongue that shatters Con’s trust and sends him running for cover. This show may be over before the curtain’s even opened.

34747665

I got an ARC in return for an honest review on NetGalley.

So to start, this book was one that I had seen mixed reviews on GoodReads by some reviewers I really respect and trust. I have to completely agree with them on their views of this book. If you get a moment check out my favorite reviewer’s reviews of anything.

The story centered around the relationship of Tristan and Con. Tristan was so obnoxious. I hated him from the very first page he appeared. I never grew any positive feelings about him and because of that hate the HEA aspect of the book. He did not deserved Con in the slightest (slight spoiler, but seriously, who expects a romance novel to end with anything but a HEA).

Con was a decent guy. He had faults and he worked on them. He had low self-esteem, but that was due to things largely outside of his control (another reason why I hate Tristan is he literally brought up something very similar to Con’s disability at a very inappropriate moment which made him seem like even more of an ass than I already thought he was). Con had a real back story. He was trying to find out more information about his family. That was so fascinating to me. If the book was more focused on that instead of Tristan’s drama, I would have loved the book. I seriously can’t get over my hate of the main character.

Tristan was so pretentious that I can’t focus on anything else but him. I was a drama kid in high school and I was surrounded by drama kids through college. I am used to artsy people. Tristan gave us all a terrible name. People that acted like him did not last long in the groups. They were filtered out, not praised. Seriously, fuck Tristan.

 

UntitledUntitled

2 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book to certain people that I thought could handle Tristan. The book was great if you could ignore half of the main love pairing.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

