Tags

, , ,

” “Consent is not the absence of ‘NO’, it is an enthusiastic YES!!”

While seemingly straightforward, Tia and Bryony hadn’t considered this subject too seriously until it comes up in conversation with their friends and they realise just how important it is.

Following the sexual assault of a classmate, a group of teenage girls find themselves discussing the term consent, what it actually means for them in their current relationships, and how they act and make decisions with peer influence. Joined by their male friends who offer another perspective, this rich graphic novel uncovers the need for more informed conversations with young people around consent and healthy relationships. Accompanying the graphics are sexual health resources for students and teachers, which make this a perfect tool for broaching the subject with teens.”

35232852

I got an ARC in return for an honest review on netgalley.

This is such an important book. I have been begging for a book like this since I was a teenager. I teach a class called “Sex and Relationships” to juveniles at the local county jail. The kids always get up in arms because I always talk about consent. They say they already know what it means and don’t need to talk about it again. Every time I have a discussion about consent I end up teaching them something new. This book covers all of my main points, except one. This book covers “no means no” and more importantly “yes means yes”. It doesn’t shame people for having sex, it instead tells them it is ok to have sex but only if you are both consenting. It talked about pressure to consent which is huge. It is amazing the stories I get from the kids in the jail about how they have felt pressure to say yes, but then they will defend someone who is in jail for rape because the girl should have just said yes.

The only point I wish this book had gotten was consent vs informed consent. It is well and good to say yes, but what are you really saying yes to. The book circled around it, but didn’t quite smack me in the face with it which I feel was needed. This is a huge thing I teach the kids, especially the boys. You need to make your intentions clear, then respect the answer.

This book is very much needed and I am very thankful that it exists.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

5 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book.

You can’t buy this book yet, but it will be published in November, 2017. Keep an eye on the book at the publisher’s website.

~Isaiah

