Tags

, , ,

“Werewolves and ghosts and magic, oh my! SwitchBack is a New Adult werewolf paranormal romance and family drama.

When travel writer and werewolf Ashlee Scott returns to her hometown to recuperate from a shooting, she must confront a place full of painful and pleasant memories while dealing with her identical twin sister Amber and the complications of family. Throw in the full moon, old boyfriends, old ghosts and new enemies, and Knightsbridge Canyon will never be the same for her again.”

So I got this book for free from one of the authors. So please keep in mind I was bribed, but I still liked this book.

My one issue with this book is it is labeled as a YA book. I think it would read better and sell better as an adult book. There is mention of some very kinky situations with two of the characters (D/s mostly) which isn’t often allowed to be in most YA books. It also reads as more adult because the situation that the romance was in was more of an adult theme: high school lovers reuniting. Despite that, the book still read smooth and could have passed as either adult or YA. That alone impressed me.

I loved some of the characters. The sister and her wife cracked me up. They were such 1950’s lesbian stereotypes, but also pretty darn accurate to many lesbian couples I grew up around. They were real and had dimension. Their dog even had a big role, but didn’t die! A DOG DIDN’T DIE!

The backstory is really fascinating. There is death, magical abilities, shape shifting, teen angst, and more. I want more. I want to hear more about the sister and how she has dealt with her visions and what she has been doing. She has to have a fascinating story.

This book was a quick read, well I made it one. I was hooked. I didn’t want to put it down or stop reading. I read it on breaks, on the train, and until I couldn’t keep my eyes open. These two men have got a new fan. I will be grabbing their next book the moment I can.

Overall, this book was just a great read. It was serious, silly, and angsty all in turn. Give it a shot if you like romance books that aren’t super heavy romance, fantasy books (a bit like Patricia Briggs in how it reads actually), or if you like YA books.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitledRating .5

4.5 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

