Tags

, ,

“Like Jean Genet and William Burroughs, Dennis Cooper assaults the senses as he engages the mind with visions of nightmare intensity in a world where stimulation without excitement and experience without emotion are prized.”

So I was really excited to read this because I love the other book I had read by Dennis Cooper, The Sluts. Problem is this book was nowhere close to being anything remotely good. Notice how far away that placed this book.

This book didn’t even really make sense. I have no idea what the point was and why it was ever written. The characters are all unlikable, they are all awful, and they are all pretty damn one dimensional. I couldn’t tell the characters apart so I had to keep notes telling me who was who just to get by. The last time I had to do that was in a book where it followed 100 years of a family.

This book wasn’t even all that racy or thrilling. The most that happened is a kid was almost snuffed (which is you have read The Sluts is nothing) and there was scat play. This book felt like it wasn’t worth the effort and wasn’t up to what Dennis Cooper has shown he can do.

Untitled

1 out of 5 stars. I would not recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

