Tags

, , ,

“In this fresh, offbeat graphic memoir, cartoonist MariNaomi chronicles her time as a misfit teen and young woman looking for love in San Francisco. Perfect for fans of graphic novels like Craig Thompson’s Blankets, Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home, and Lynda Barry’s Cruddy, MariNaomi gives a captivating look at a life spent in search of love, bringing to light issues of identity and sexuality as she recounts her extensive (and explicit) romantic résumé.”

So I bought this book straight from the author. She offers to sign each book and draw a little doodle in each one for you. That little extra touch made me a huge fan. The book itself made me want to keep reading, but the fact that she actually drew in my book making it uniquely mine was really touching. So please, if you buy this book which you should do, go right to the author to buy the book. I ended up getting my package before any of the other sites would have gotten them to me.

This book is pictorial history of MariNaomi’s dating life. It starts out cute with little elementary school ones that are just getting you eased into the style. Then BAM it gets super depressing. It wasn’t depressing when I was ignoring the time table, but when I actually looked at when all of these events happened it really condensed it down and made it sad. Normally people can’t rival my dating issues, but MariNaomi can easily rival all of mine.

The art isn’t breathtakingly beautiful, but the thing is that the art fits in really well. I don’t want that to seem like I am taking a dig at the art. I am in no way able to draw anything that would even remotely rival her art. I enjoyed the art and it was easy to tell the characters apart, the style allows for her message to get across, and it is approachable. I love the way it is drawn.

So if you want a book that is deceptively cute and funny, this is the one for you. Either way, you got to give it a shot.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

5 out of 5 stars. I would highly recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

