Tags

, ,

“Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.”

This book was given to me by a good friend after she went to a publishing convention. I am very thankful that she thought of me at all, but I didn’t even think about reading the book until all the fuss died down as hipster as that sounds.

This book was pretty interesting. I am not sure if anything that the author presented about cancer was correct. I don’t know much about cancer and the people around me for the most part have not dealt with it either. I know I am privileged. However, I did like that the support group felt like a real support group. I have been in support groups and running support groups since I was 16. There is always an unspoken code and signs that develop, like taking the elevator instead of the stairs. There is also always someone who uses the group as their personal space and ignores everyone.

I did not ship the main characters at all. I can see why people do, but it isn’t what I wanted. I much rather have Hazel with August’s best friend. Much better romance.

I was a big fan of Hazel. She was a reader and was obsessive about books. She didn’t really have many friends, but she didn’t really feel lonely. It was like seeing me in a character for once. The book she kept reading sounded like one I would have read. The quotes everywhere and how obsessed she was made this book something that I could relate to. I just wish the book was real, so Green this is your chance to write the book. If he was able to pull off that book, I would hail Green as one of the best authors of this time.

I can see why this book and the movie have so many jokes. It isn’t a book that can be taken seriously without feeling a lot of pain. The issue was I never felt close enough to feel the pain. I am probably one of the few people that doesn’t love this book.

UntitledUntitledUntitled

3 out of 5 stars (if Green does write the other book I will up this rating). I would recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

