Tags

, ,

“When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type is girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact. On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy–loving best friend riding shotgun—but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl. Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself.”

I found this book for free somewhere. I can’t remember where though. I thought I would give it a chance, but I still had a bad taste in my mouth from Looking for Alaska. So I wasn’t expecting much.

This book was pretty damn fantastic. I may not like every detail, but this book hit so close to home. I haven’t dated any Katherines, but I loved how Colin approached it with math instead of emotion. I wish the formula actually existed, that would be such an amazing feat of math and science. Psychologists would be all over that, especially a few of my favorites in the fields of romantic attraction and relationships. Though the one Colin used only predicted monogamous relationships, but I did like that it was able to be applied to different gender combinations instead of just being straight. It was actually a mild plot point.

I am glad there was also a non-white character in the book. His race and religion came up repeatedly in a way that seemed more realistic than what is usually allowed in YA books (most of them either ignore it completely or it is only brought up when the character experiences a white character as a way to other the white character). This book actually allowed a character to have a complex relationship when it came to his religion and his race. This was some of the best character development I have seen in a YA book when it comes to religion and race, to date. I am hoping this is a trend that continues.

If this were a movie, this would be a nerdy romcom. Very funny and intriguing.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

5 out of 5 stars. I highly recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

