Tags

, ,

“Dorothy is back, and she’s not in Kansas anymore. But she’s not in Oz, either! L. Frank Baum’s magical world comes to life once again as our beloved Dorothy Gale takes yet another unexpected trip to a mystical, faraway land. This time, Dorothy winds up in the land of Ev; she meets new friends such as Tik-Tok the mechanical man and Billina, perhaps the cleverest chicken you’ll ever encounter. Dorothy will also have to face the wicked Nome King, who’s imprisoned the royal family of Ev. Lucky for her, she’ll get help from her Oz friends such as the Tin Woodman and the Scarecrow – along with the new Queen of Oz, the lovely Ozma! But can even their combined might win the day and see Dorothy back home?”

This is a book that has been on my list to read since I first found out it existed. It was one of the first books I put on my ereader when I was given one in high school. I just finished it.

So this book was strange. It was amazingly detailed, but also really simple to read. One of my favorite parts are the characters, like Billina. Billina is a very self-righteous, pompous, and proud hen. She takes no flack and she has her way. If it weren’t for her, everyone would be a knickknack right now!

The plot was amusing. Dorothy ends back up in Oz, well sort of. She ends up across the desert from Oz. She then has to help Ozma, the princess of Oz from the last book (which was my least favorite so far in the series), set the real rulers of Ev free from being knickknacks. Just writing that summary makes me feel very strange. I would love to have the mind of Baum and come up with stories like this. He is a genius when it comes to strange plots that still have a morality tale in them.

There isn’t much to say about this book, but it is strange. It has all the major characters, but a few new ones. New characters like the tiger that is always hungry so has stopped eating since eating won’t stop him from being hungry.

If there weren’t the same characters in Return to Oz, I would say skip that one and just stick with the Dorothy books, but it is nice to see how the wooden sawhorse was created.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

4 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book.

You can buy this book here or you can download.

~Isaiah

 

