Tags

, , ,

“Some mornings, Sara Chambers wakes in bed next to her girlfriend and her girlfriend’s lover wondering how she ended up there. Beautiful, successful, and a force to be reckoned with at her Atlanta law firm, Sara is still powerless in her attraction to the rebellious and reckless, Rille Thompson.

As college girlfriends, Sara and Rille’s relationship had been incendiary, burning away Sara’s innocence and self-respect even as it widened her world beyond her wildest imagination. Now, almost twenty years later, Rille still pushes Sara beyond her limits, bringing a third lover into their bed and domestic lives when their monogamy gets stale. The hold Rille has over Sara—and their new lover—becomes as powerful as it is dangerous. Can Sara pull herself free in time, or will her life turn to cinders in the wake of Rille’s powerful flame?”

I got this book for free when the Pacific Center was cleaning out their bookshelves. It sounded like this was going to be a romance novel about three women in an open relationship. I was super intrigued. I was ready. I was disappointed and impressed.

I was disappointed because I was wrong. This was not about an open relationship. Instead it was about someone sacrificing themselves for love and a relationship. Sara knows that Rille cheats on her and does crazy things. She thinks that she can keep the relationship more solid and less painful if she agrees to letting Rille have someone else, but she even makes it a point to tell the guy to take a hike at one point. Sara is not ok with how things are and I don’t blame her.

Rille is self-absorbed and doesn’t really care about other people. She only cares about what other people can give her. She is not good for Sara or anyone else that she comes into contact with. She is very self-destructive and fascinating. Rille would have been able to do the same things to me, without a doubt. She is charming and powerful. Rille is a force.

Sara is more timid, but not less powerful. She doesn’t realize her power for a great deal of time. She, to me, is much more fascinating of a character. She is dealing with a trauma and it helps push her into Rille’s control. There are a lot of issues with their relationship, such as Rille cheating on Sara and contracting HIV. This book is filled with flawed people that are coming together to burn hotter than the sun, but when things burn they burn out. This was such a fascinating story and one that I didn’t want to put down.

The writing was superb. I am going to be passing this book around to my friends that like books for pretty writing more than plot, because this book has such amazing writing.

My only issue with this book is that I didn’t get to read it sooner.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

5 out of 5 stars. I highly recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

