Tags

, , ,

“Meet Patrick Cleary: party boy, loser, and spaz. Patrick’s been trying desperately to transform himself, and the results have been so spectacular, they’ve almost killed him. Meet Wes “Whiskey” Keenan: he’s a field biologist wondering if it’s time to settle down. When the worst day of Patrick’s life ends with Whiskey saving it, Patrick and Whiskey find themselves sharing company and an impossibly small berth on the world’s tackiest houseboat.

Patrick needs to get his life together—and Whiskey wants to help—but Patrick is not entirely convinced it’s doable. He’s pretty sure he’s a freak of nature. But Whiskey, who works with real freaks of nature, thinks all Patrick needs is a little help to see the absolute beauty inside his spastic self, and Whiskey is all about volunteering. Between anomalous frogs, a homicidal ex-boyfriend, and Patrick’s own hangups, Whiskey’s going to need all of his patience and Patrick’s going to need to find the best of himself before these two men ever see clear water.”

One of the amazing people from Goodreads gave me this book because she had gotten a big gift card for Christmas that she wanted to share. I was one of the lucky ones that she shared with and she sent me one of her favorites.

I can see why she likes this book! It is charming, sweet, and just a little bit naughty. It was one of those books that doesn’t force the plot, but it also doesn’t feel like it is moving too slow. It was a wonderful, peaceful story. I only had two issues with the book: The author’s note and the twist ending.

The author’s note was really sweet about how she got the idea to write a character with ADHD because her son has it. Normally that would have been really cute and touching, but then her young son kept popping into my head at really random times throughout the book. So this was more of a personal issue that normally doesn’t bother me.

The twist ending was just over the top and crazy. I really hate when great books get ruined with the twist because the author made it too big for what had already been established (see my rant in the review about The Elephant of Surprise about how much I hate that).

Ignoring those two small details, this book was just amazing. A nerdy bisexual guy getting into the role of care taker, it was like hurt/comfort style but the hurt was all outside of the relationship. It fit into what I like my M/M reading to contain. The only thing that could make it better is if I could get my hands on more of the books by this author!

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

4 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

