Tags

, , , ,

” “My name was Salmon, like the fish; first name, Susie. I was fourteen when I was murdered on December 6, 1973.”

So begins the story of Susie Salmon, who is adjusting to her new home in heaven, a place that is not at all what she expected, even as she is watching life on earth continue without her — her friends trading rumors about her disappearance, her killer trying to cover his tracks, her grief-stricken family unraveling. Out of unspeakable tragedy and loss, THE LOVELY BONES succeeds, miraculously, in building a tale filled with hope, humor, suspense, even joy.”
By now you all know how I feel about rape as a plot device. This is one of the few times I am going to be ok with it. Susie was one of a select group that was raped and killed by one man. This story wasn’t so much about who had killed her or even really about Susie. Instead it was one about how the family and community deal with the violent death of a little girl.
There is always the joke that people want to see who goes to their funeral. Susie got to see that and much more. She was able to actually experience sensation and at one point was able to take over the body of one of her classmates. That was my least favorite plot line.
I liked that the book showed how much damage can happen over an event like this and how varied the damage can manifest. There were characters that were sad, some were angry, some were numb. There was a great range of emotions which made the book feel more complete to me.
I was really enjoying this book up until Susie was able to take over someone else’s body and have sex with the boy she kissed. WHY WAS THAT SOMETHING THAT HAPPENED? Also the readers guide at the end made the whole book feel pretentious and gross. Don’t read those.
UntitledUntitledUntitledRating .5
3.5 our of 5 stars. I would recommend this book.
You can buy this book here.
~Isaiah

 

