Tags

, , ,

“How far will a woman go to express her love? In this exquisite and taboo novel of passion and desire, the answer emerges through a daring exploration of the deepest bonds of sensual domination. “O” is a beautiful Parisian fashion photographer, determined to understand and prove her consuming devotion to her lover, René, through complete submission to his every whim, his every desire.

It is a journey of forbidden, dangerous choices that sweeps her through the secret gardens of the sexual underground. From the inner sanctum of a private club where willing women are schooled in the art of subjugation to the excruciating embraces of René’s friend Sir Stephen, O tests the outermost limits of pleasure. For as O discovers, true freedom lies in her pure and complete willingness to do anything for love.”

This is one of those books that I wanted to read from the moment I realized it existed. I was just never able to find a free copy, but I got it from my Secret Santa off a Goodreads exchange group. THANK YOU!

I loved this book. It was really intense and had a lot of things in it that I think were just incredibly well done. There was consent (well, sorta. It was consensual non-consent), there was love, affection, and an actually training period for the sub. My main issue is the lack of understanding of the human body (again, anal sex needs lube and stretching. Why do I have to keep saying this?).

The main character of O was more complex just a willing slave. I feel like O used to have a name, but it was taken away as either a stylistic choice by the author to show that she could be anyone, but was also nothing but property of her owner or the character had her name taken away by her owner and started to only think of herself as O so when the story was told she no longer had a sense of self as different than an object. Either way, that is amazingly fascinating.

None of the characters were even remotely fascinating compared to O, which seems like it would detract from the story. Instead it really made me focus on O and her motivations. I was completely enthralled by O. How isn’t this book seen as the standard of BDSM books? Why do I hear about Marquis de Sade 9 times out of 10 when his stuff is just barbaric?

I want more O and more of this author/translator duo. Please.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

5 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

