Tags

, , ,

“Meth-heads, man-made monsters, and murderous Neo-Nazis. Blissed out club kids dying at the speed of sound. The un-dead and the very soon-to-be-dead. They’re all here, trying to claw their way free.

From the radioactive streets of a war-scarred future, where the nuclear bombs have become self-aware, to the fallow fields of Nebraska where the kids are mainlining lightning bugs, this is a world both alien and intensely human. This is a place where self-discovery involves scalpels and horse tranquilizers; where the doctors are more doped-up than the patients; where obsessive-compulsive acid-freaks have unlocked the gateway to God and can’t close the door.”

So a coworker of mine suggested I read this and brought it in for me. The only thing he explained to me was there was a man with a cockroach suit and that I had to read this before Extinction Journal (See next week’s review for that).

It is a collection of short stories that are insane. I loved it. There was a guy that was trying to be an amazing body mod king. So he had his brain removed from his body and put into a jar. It had a very sad moral ending too! His friend had all of his skin replaced with salad so he had to stay wet at all times.

Then there was the guy that cut open his own stomach just because he was trying to shock his parents. It was fantastic. It made me sick to my stomach. There was so much detail about slicing of his skin and how he had planned to do it. It had even details of how his intestines felt. It was amazing.

There were some stories that weren’t that appealing, but they usually ended quickly and they were still pretty fantastic. The author has a skill to writing that I wish I had. Overall, AMAZING. Like my only complaint was that the books are so short that I read them in a day or so. I wanted more. WRITE MORE.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitledRating .5

4.5 out of 5 stars. I highly recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

