Tags

, , ,

“then.

When Sam met Grace, he was a wolf and she was a girl. Eventually he found a way to become a boy, and their love transformed from curious distance to the intense closeness of shared lives.

now.

That should have been the end of their story. But Grace was not meant to stay human. Now she is the wolf. And the wolves of Mercy Falls are about to be hunted in one final, spectacular kill.

forever.

Sam would do anything for Grace. But can one boy and one love really change a hostile, predatory world? The past, the present, and the future will all collide in one pure moment – a moment of death or life, farewell or forever.”

Maura got me reading this series when we were going to college together, problem was she never gave me the last one. So years later I get to read it and finally put the series to rest.

So the basic lore for werewolves is shifted in this series from the full moon forcing a shift to cold forcing a shift. I am more of a fan of a mild control of the shift like in the Sookie Stackhouse series, but the cold was unique somehow and endearing. It was more interesting that the werewolf mutation was able to force the people to stay as a wolf for the rest of their lives (though that only made me think of Tobias).

I was a fan of the romance and how it played a role in the story in the first two books of the series, but in this one it was more a back drop to all of the wolves being hunted. Of all the books in the series, this was my least favorite. I didn’t like how the plot of the book jumped from Sam and Grace to another romance that I didn’t care about. If it had been all about Sam and Grace I probably would have liked the story more

The action of this series was always a bit off so that is my main issue with the book. This was where the action finally came to a head. The big all out war where the wolves were hunted from a helicopter to finally kill them off in Mercy Falls happens. Of course all the main characters lived or died in the manner that would drive the love of Same and Grace. I am a bit skeptical when it comes to the “cure” of the werewolf inside of Sam. Why would that be the cure? I would like to see the author explain that science to a non-YA audience.

UntitledUntitledUntitled

3 out of 5 stars. I would recommend the series, but I am eh about this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

