Tags

, , ,

“This is a book I wrote. Because I wrote it, I had to figure out what to put on the back cover to explain what it is. I tried to write a long, third-person summary that would imply how great the book is and also sound vaguely authoritative—like maybe someone who isn’t me wrote it—but I soon discovered that I’m not sneaky enough to pull it off convincingly. So I decided to just make a list of things that are in the book:

Pictures
Words
Stories about things that happened to me
Stories about things that happened to other people because of me
Eight billion dollars*
Stories about dogs
The secret to eternal happiness*

*These are lies. Perhaps I have underestimated my sneakiness!”

Before buying this book (you read that right, I actually bought a book this time), I had only read one of the entries of this webcomic. I almost didn’t buy it, but they I saw the images of Simple Dog and Helper Dog. They pretty much described every issue I have faced in the last two months with my puppy. I couldn’t help but get it after that.

This book had me laughing out loud and feeling like the author was writing about me. The stories about depression were spot on to the feelings I have had and still have. This was one of the most accurate descriptions I have seen for my description. The author opened herself up in a way that is really intimate. I loved how open the author felt while still managing to make the stories humorous instead of a pity party.

The story about the cake had me laughing too. There were very few stories that didn’t get me laughing out loud on the train like a lunatic. The biggest draws were the stories about the two dogs. They were just fantastic both in the absurdity of them (a whole chapter explaining to the dogs why they are stupid) and how they still felt realistic (Simple Dog and Helper Dog feeding off each other to be a continuous loop of sounds). It was like a dog lover’s dream to actually see the stupid dogs still getting love because we have all had that one dog that just didn’t understand ANYTHING. Simple Dog is that dog, but is really lovable because he isn’t ours. (Simple Dog also makes me doubt that my dog is any bit smart since she was completely Simple Dog, but in a smaller package.)

Overall, this book was funny, touchy, and worth the whole two-three hours it took to read it. I am not one who buys physical copies of webcomics or even comics in general, but this one is one I happily bought. Please give this book a shot or at least read the webcomic.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

5 out of 5 stars. I would highly recommend this book. ​

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

 

