Tags

, , ,

“When Azure’s principal gives her the chance to turn the school’s traditional (and boring) senior prom into an event that will appeal to everyone, not just the jocks and cheerleaders, she jumps at the opportunity. Soon Azure manages to convince her best friends, Luke and Radhika, to join the prom committee as well.

Facing heavy opposition and admittedly clueless about prom logistics, the three friends are nonetheless determined to succeed — if Luke’s and Azure’s secret crushes on Radhika don’t push the committee members, and their friendships, to the breaking point first.”

I am a huge Julie Anne Peters fan, always have been. This had the potential to be a great book, like most of the other books by Peters. (If you haven’t heard my rant about Luna yet, consider yourself lucky). However like most of the books with a bisexual character this book was pretty bland and borderline annoying.

The main conflict of the book is there is two best friends have feelings for a third best friend. They fight over who she could possibly love, but surprise it turns out that neither of them is the person of her dreams. I don’t feel sorry for that spoiler; it was clear throughout the entire book that neither teenager stood a chance with her.

I had two major issues with the book (outside of it being mostly boring). The first is the use of herpes as a way to say someone is undesirable and gross. The other is that yet ANOTHER bisexual character is being treated like they could only possibly have feelings for one gender, instead of two. The main lesbian character (Azure) went out of her way to constantly say that the male bisexual character (yay, a male bisexual character) was not really in love with a girl, he was just doing it to show that he wasn’t gay. I was getting so annoyed (maybe because I am both HSV 1 positive and panromantic, but any-who).

Normally, I really like Peters’ books, but this one fell so flat for me. None of the characters really stood out to me. The end was tied up just a little too neatly and quickly. There was a twist, but it was only a twist because that character was so two dimensional and mentioned only a handful of times that there was no possible way to think that she would play a major role in the story. The character development was way below the standard that Peters’ has set with her other books.

While I wanted to like this book, I just couldn’t get into it.

UntitledUntitled

2 out of 5 stars. I would not recommend this book, though I really want to be able to.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

