Tags

, , ,

Title: The Staring Contest

Author: The-Incredible-Blunderbolt

Universe: My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic

Pairing: Rainbow Dash/Twilight Sparkle

Summary: On that fateful day, Rainbow Dash challenged Twilight Sparkle to a staring contest.

 

I went into this one expecting it to be really bad and hoping it was just passable so I could read it all without laughing. Good news and bad news. Good news is the story was well written, engaging, and generally something I enjoyed. Bad News is I literally caught myself enjoying a My Little Pony fanfiction.

The characters, Twilight Sparkle and Rainbow Dash, were well written. Rainbow Dash was all cocksure and boastful as always. Twilight Sparkle just wanted to be able to alphabetize her card catalog. I am surprised that it isn’t a written rule that Spike does that. I am surprised that Twilight Sparkle gave into the staring contest idea though. I was pretty sure where it was going from the very beginning.

Despite the plot line being very predictable it was one I still enjoyed. It was flirty and fun. It wasn’t an overly sexual story about a show that I can’t see as sexual (sorry, Bronies). I still ship characters, but never have them going beyond feelings. I must admit that I am not a fan of Rainbow Dash/Twilight Sparkle. I can’t see why they would be attracted to each other. They are vastly different ponies. I can see them being together more after the alicorn plot line, but before that they wouldn’t be together.

One last note: I literally laughed out loud at the last line. Brilliant!

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

4 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this FF.

~Isaiah

 

