Tags

, , , ,

“From her beginnings as a wunderkind producer of pirated stage productions for six-year-olds, through her spirited adventures watching self-satisfying monkeys, throwing up on Chinese food deliverymen, and stalking Leo DiCaprio, here are the goofy highs and horrifying lows of life as Kelly Oxford.”

I wasn’t sure what this book could be about, but I gave it a shot after I looked at it a dozen times at the local public library. I am happy to say that not once did I complain while reading this book (those that are around me often will tell you that is a miracle). The book was funny, endearing, and generally just a book that kept me laughing. There is no real plot to the book. There are just random memories of Kelly Oxford that make me laugh a great deal harder than they should.

This is a book that doesn’t have a real pace or plot, but it is one that can be read easily. There are enough breaks that you can read a memory at a time to cheer yourself up or you can eat through the entire book in an afternoon. It is a book that I really wished I owned just so I could show people how amazingly funny Kelly Oxford is.

My favorite memory is Kelly Oxford seeing a poster for Drake where she refers to him as her future husband, talks about doing the wheelchair Jimmy dance, and refers to her real husband as a supportive first husband. I’m not going to lie, I took a picture on my phone of that passage and I read it when I am having a bad day because it just cracks me up every time I see it. Other amazing memories include getting a ticket then yelling at the cop to not give her a ticket because she is covered in baby poop, pretty much anytime she mentions Drake, and her trying to do a play adaption of Star Wars.

This book was very easy to read and very hard to put down. I would read it a dozen more times and still laugh at the jokes she tells. I seriously look forward to anything else she has to put out into the world.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

5 out of 5 stars. I would highly recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

