Tags

, , , , ,

“The heart of aces is where an anomaly lives, where love’s definition takes a deviation from the common rules. These eleven stories dive into asexual relationships, where couples embrace differences, defy society’s expectations, and find romantic love. In this collection is a full spectrum of asexuality in all its classifications. From contemporary fiction to fantasy, from heteroromantic to homoromantic, join these unique characters on their journey to finding the person that speaks to their hearts.”

I got this book for Christmas and I was really looking forward to reading it. I love romance novels and I identify in the asexual spectrum so I was expecting magic. I don’t want to do this, but I was let down. While I was happy that asexuals were finally getting in the light and allowed to experience romance, there were many issues I had with the book. This book has many authors so no one author will be singled out as I want them all to keep writing as they are some of the few voices that are being heard on the subject.

My biggest issue is the range of asexuality wasn’t really expressed. So most of the characters were gay, white, middle class, asexual people. There was little to no discussion of greysexual or demisexual (I believe there was one) and no mention of aromantic people at all. There was the issue of all of the asexuals, but one being not into sex. There are many asexuals who love sex that are not being discussed. There are many asexuals that have sex, but don’t enjoy it that weren’t being discussed. Instead all, but that one asexual had no sexual contact (when in reality more asexuals than not have had sex at least once). There was the issue that every asexual was able to find a partner that was ok with their asexuality and their desire to not have sex. All of these relationships were monogamous, while in my personal experience most asexuals in mixed couple (asesxual/allosexual pairings) are open.

I understand that I was expecting a lot from eleven stories, but I was expecting it to be better because so many asexuals were involved. The stories themselves were not on the whole badly written and were mostly entertaining. They often were not anything special and I wasn’t too attached to any of the characters. There was one character that I was really upset about. He was a transman and of course the girl from his third grade class remembers him and can tell it is him though they have not seen each other in ten plus years and after a medical transition. I was really annoyed by that plot. I was happy a trans* character made it in, but I almost wish he hadn’t just because of the plot he was given.

UntitledUntitledUntitled2

2.5 out of 5 stars. I recommend this book, but only if there is a discussion of what different types of asexuality are after.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

