Tags

, , ,

“Nobody likes to see their beloved canine suffering from
arthritis, and as pet parents we strive to find out how we can relieve their
pain. “Naturally Treating and Preventing Dog Arthritis” provides guidance for
dog owners by addressing the cause of the disease and how it affects a dog’s
ability to function normally. Discussing injuries, illness and more, detail is provided
so that the reader understands how arthritis both develops and progresses in
dogs and why it needs to be considered a serious illness.

Approaching treatment from an organic standpoint, the book
discusses the positive aspects of alternative therapy and how it can benefit a dog’s
achy joints without potentially harming other organs of the body. Bringing to
light the advantages of Glucosamine, Chondroitin and MSM the reader will learn
how these natural substances strengthen the body’s ability to fight pain and
inflammation.”

In all fairness to the readers of my reviews, I must mention I was given a free copy of this book to do the review. With that being said I will be as honest as I can about the book and my feelings on it despite being able to read it for free. This is cross posted on Goodreads and Amazon.

There were formatting issues where the chapters would run into each other and there was weird spacing. While this is not uncommon is kindle books, it was noticeable. Outside of professionally published kindle books the spacing issue is very common. I was not sure what was a subtitle and what was a title. This may be the kindle formatting’s fault as it happens in even the more professionally published books.

The book was straightforward in its approach. It did not mince words and was a pretty quick read. The book did not waste time going through the different types of arthritis. I was left felling like I didn’t quite know what was happening. The authors assume at least a basic knowledge of human arthritis. Despite this assumed knowledge the authors mention types of arthritis I have never heard of despite dealing with multiple aging dogs. Their body of knowledge was impressive. There was even a set of references at the end of the book which is the way to my heart as I am a nerd.

The book is used as a persuasive tool to look towards more natural methods of treating arthritis in dogs. The three methods recommended are glucosamine, chondroitin, and MSM. I literally only have one complaint about the book: it felt like a more time intensive add for “Synovial – Hip & Joint Flex” than anything else by the end.I originally had two complaints, but upon reading my review the authors actually went through their book and fixed it as it was a major type. They thanked me for pointing it out and sent me a new and improved copy of the book. This is actually a big deal as most authors don’t  interact with reader’s reviews when it comes to issues. It makes me more impressed with the professionalism of these two authors than anything else.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled2

3.5 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book if you have to treat your dog for arthritis as it has a great explanation of the disease.

You can buy this book here.

-Isaiah

