Tags

, , ,

“Stephen King’s legendary debut, about a teenage outcast and the revenge she enacts on her classmates.

Carrie White may have been unfashionable and unpopular, but she had a gift. Carrie could make things move by concentrating on them. A candle would fall. A door would lock. This was her power and her sin. Then, an act of kindness, as spontaneous as the vicious taunts of her classmates, offered Carrie a chance to be a normal and go to her senior prom. But another act–of ferocious cruelty–turned her gift into a weapon of horror and destruction that her classmates would never forget.”

I am a big fan of the 80’s movie Carrie and I saw the remake when it hit theaters not too long ago, so I figured I had to give the book a shot since I had never read a Stephen King book fully. This is one of the few times I can say I liked the movie better than the book (though I only liked the original movie more).

The book was told with an alternating narrative coming from Carrie, a classmate, news paper articles, and books. This is a type of writing that I actually enjoy. I really liked it in The Basic Eight and I really liked it here. Over all I liked how it was written and I really liked the pacing. What I especially like was how calm the book felt even when Carrie was killing everyone.

The book felt a little farfetched to me. Even in the time period set by the author it is unlikely that a teen girl about to go to senior prom would not know what her period was and not get it until that age. Plus the depiction of the period being as heavy as it was was unrealistic. Poor Carrie would have had such a heavy flow that nothing could have stopped it if King was right about periods.

Despite these flaws, I was enthralled by Carrie and everything about Carrie. Between the original movie and the book I just love how King was able to create such a religiously abusive mother who was clearly crazy to everyone but herself. It was amazing to see the interactions between the mother and the neighbor in the book. Pretty much all of the social interactions are perfect. I couldn’t ask for a creepier set of circumstances. It is like Columbine, but with mind powers.

So while this book wasn’t scary, it was one I mostly enjoyed reading.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

4 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book.

~Isaiah

