Tags

, , ,

“Knifepoint Horror is an original genre which strips tales of supernatural suspense down to such a raw, minimalist form that literally nothing is left over to allow the mind a respite of even a single paragraph. To accomplish this, the most primal element of storytelling–a single human voice describing events exactly as it experienced them–is adhered to without embellishment or exception. Within these pages lie taut, unadorned first person narratives from agonized souls, minus all the stylish techniques which dilute, stretch, and burden tales of terror with unnecessary detail. Here you will find no entry into the thoughts of any characters other than the narrator’s, no standard passages of dialogue, no humor, no extraneous gore, no romance. The untitled stories inside this book spill forward without page or even paragraph breaks, taking the form of uninterrupted confessions, creating an effect of pure campfire terror. Knifepoint strips away all the tired conventions which water down traditional horror fiction, leaving nothing but the story’s riveting spine to compel and chill you to the core.”

I won this book in the Goodreads First Reads program. In exchange for a free copy of the book I have to review the book.

I wanted to read this book because I am a horror fan and this was a whole new genre of horror. The idea that the author was going to take me on a horrific journey, but skip all the parts of horror novels I hated was so appealing that I had to read the book. The way the book was written was so unique that I was drawn in for no other reason since as you can see from the description you aren’t sure what happens. The only downside to this format of writing is there are no page numbers so I was often was lost if the book accidentally shut because of the wind.

The plots of the stories were often unsettling or creepy. Most of the stories were not scary. There was often too much left to my imagination about what was happening or not enough to be actually scary. There are a few stories that have stuck with me ever since reading it though.

The main story that stuck with me is about a man riding on the New York subway one night. He was pretty much alone in the car except for a small number of other riders. Suddenly the lights flashed and there was another car behind them, which was impossible since he was in the last car. The car behind them started filling with rocks and dirty and it was really creepy how everything was described. It probably didn’t help that I ride a train daily to get to work that goes underground for most of my trip.

While many of the stories were unsettling, many of them were just weird. I was often confused at where the author was going so while the suspense was rising I was lagging behind. I would rather read this book a dozen more times than touch some of the more famous horror authors.

This book is a great conversation starter, it is unique, and there is a deal with the author that if the book ever gets updated you just send him a page from the version you have and you get the newest version for free. The fact that the author is more loyal to fans than he is to profits is refreshing. He can count me in the list of his fans from this point forward.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

4 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book to fans of Silent Hill, horror, or who like unique styles of writing.

You can buy the book here.

~Isaiah

