Tags

, ,

It-girl Betty White delivers a hilarious, slyly profound take on love, life, celebrity, and everything in between.

Drawing from a lifetime of lessons learned, seven-time Emmy winner Betty White’s wit and wisdom take center stage as she tackles topics like friendship, romantic love, aging, television, fans, love for animals, and the brave new world of celebrity. If You Ask Me mixes her thoughtful observations with humorous stories from a seven- decade career in Hollywood. Longtime fans and new fans alike will relish Betty’s candid take on everything from her rumored crush on Robert Redford (true) to her beauty regimen (“I have no idea what color my hair is and I never intend to find out”) to the Facebook campaign that helped persuade her to host Saturday Night Live despite her having declined the hosting job three times already.

Featuring all-new material, with a focus on the past fifteen years of her life, If You Ask Me is funny, sweet, and to the point-just like Betty White.”

This book has been an obsession of mine since I found out it existed. I just didn’t want to spend the money on yet another book I would read in a day. I got it for Christmas from a close friend who understands my Betty White obsession.

This book was not at all what I was expecting. I was expecting it to be clearly ghost written and not have any of the charm I expected from White. However it was really warm and it was like she was talking directly to me. It was not the best written book, but it was one of the warmest I have ever read. She even lets the readers in on how she felt about her husband dying. It was really revealing and touching.

It was written in a very short chapter set up with lots of pictures of what White was talking about. There were pictures of The Golden Girls which made me happy to no end as I grew up with that show. The chapters were really short and it was an easy read. There were great little tidbits about everyone. They were even nice about everyone. It looks and sounds like Betty White likes everyone and everyone likes her.

My judgement of this book is very biased as I am a lover of everything I have seen Betty White in and a lover of animals, so please keep that in mind. The book literally had me tearing up when she talked about her animal adventures. She talked about meeting Koko and how they bonded. There is even a lot of details about her own dogs which melted my heart. If you are an animal lover you should really be a fan of Betty White. There are many reasons why.

The stories range from animal stories to stories about TV. These are really quick little insights into her world. While this book is not a great literary work, it is a heartfelt one that made me warm and fuzzy.

UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

4 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book for Betty White fans.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

