Tags

, , ,

“Alec always thought she was a lesbian. She got thrown out of her house for it as a teenager, in fact. But when she moves to Chicago she begins a journey of self- discovery that leads to a place that she never imagined possible. She discovers that she isn’t a lesbian at all….but a straight man.”

The basic plot of the book was one I could easily relate to. A hardworking person deals with never feeling right in their body, but tries to keep going. They think they figure it out when they realize they love women, but that isn’t quite right. After that the story differs. While many stories take on a tall order of fitting graphic descriptions of everyone else, this one focused more on the journey of Alec. Alec had to navigate a new job, making new friends, and dealing with old friends that he loved.

This story was very simplistically written and was often lacking in details. While this did not bog down the plot, it felt like it was really bare and sparse. The plot just smoothly went along though, it was consistently sparely detailed instead of choppy plot with a lot of detail randomly like many of the classic authors I can’t stand. So while I wanted more detail, I liked how it was a smooth read.

I was never invested in the book. I didn’t feel like I had to be. The plot would go on smoothly with or without me. I didn’t feel like my feelings, which I had none, actually mattered because the characters didn’t really seem to have any either. While the author said they had feelings, I never felt that they did. There was a chance for real conflict and emotion when one of the main women got sick, but there was a real lack of motivation to worry or even be sad.

On a better note, I just adored the cover. The cover was one that got conversations started on the train with people and at work. It was one that didn’t hide the trans* person within the pages or behind clothing. Instead Alec had his chest on full display which got me many questions about what had happened to him. I explained that he was a transman and had his breasts removed which started a great many conversations at work. I came out a great deal while reading this because a lot of people were more interested and polite than even accidentally transphobic. This book may be the way to get conversations started, especially since you don’t have to worry about the book tiring you out or keeping up late at night.

UntitledUntitled

2 out of 5. I would recommend carrying the book around to start conversations, but not reading it when you want a serious book

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

