Tags

, , , ,

“As an angel of death, Keenan’s job is to collect the souls on his list. He’s carried out his duty for two thousand years and never faltered once. Until he meets Nicole St. James. When the moment of death comes, Keenan hesitates, and instead of taking Nicole, Keenan touches the vampire who’s attacking her. Cast out of heaven for disobedience, Keenan plummets to earth. Six months later, he finally manages to track Nicole to a bar in Mexico. He’s stunned to discover that the woman he remembers has undergone a dramatic change – she’s become a vampire. And when he realises that she’s the target of all manner of enemies – other vampires, demons, even shifters – he’ll do whatever it takes to protect her, even if all hell breaks loose…”

I picked up this book just as a challenge from my roommate to see if I would seriously read a romance novel that sounded this cheesy and bad. Let’s say that I won the challenge but it took me a few weeks, which is the longest I have taken on a book in years. I am a quick reader, especially when it comes to romance novels or YA fiction. However this book took me a great deal of time to read for various reasons.

The main plot was an angel of death fell to Earth after not killing a woman he had fallen in love with. His inability to kill her made her turn into a vampire. Now everyone is after them for a bunch of different reasons. There was a lot of action that was supposed to be suspenseful, but was really annoying. It wasn’t the action that can make romance novels exciting, instead it was like the author was trying to combine an action/thriller book and romance, but barely being able to handle one genre.

The main reason I didn’t like the novel is it was really slow. There was a lot of details that I felt slowed down the novel. They were needed as world building, but that is not why I read romance novels. I wanted some steamy passion. There was some “steamy” passion, but it was lack luster and the sex scenes were nothing thrilling. While there was great potential between a fallen angel and a vampire, but nope. It was really mild.

It was also really fast. They went from barely knowing each other (well Kennan knew all about her because he watched her for the longest time) to magically being in love. I do realize that is how romance novels work, but this felt even too quick for that genre of love. So the main guy was a stalker and obsessive, but it was ok because he was really quick at learning how to have sex. I don’t see how Kennan is attractive after he turns out to be a creepy stalker with control and attachment issues.

I wanted to like it. The novel sounded like something I would secretly love and read over and over again hidden in other books so no one could see I was loving it. I was sadly disappointed. It wasn’t a bad book per say, but it wasn’t a good one.

UntitledUntitled

2 out of 5 stars. I would not recommend this book.

You can buy this book here.

~Isaiah

