Tags

, ,

“When the grandmother who raised him dies, Davy Ross, a lonely thirteen-year-old boy, must move to Manhattan to live with his estranged mother. Between alcohol-infused lectures about her self-sacrifice and awkward visits with his distant father, Davy’s only comfort is his beloved dachshund Fred. Things start to look up when he and a boy from school become friends. But when their relationship takes an unexpected turn, Davy struggles to understand what happened and what it might mean.”

This book was not as graphic as the books I have grown accustomed to reading like books by Alex Sanchez or even Brent Hartinger. The book was a very slow read, but for once that did not seem to be a weakness. The book was slow paced, but it did not seem to drag. Instead the slow pacing added to the realness of the novel. I am very impressed with what happened in the book and saw myself identifying with the main character a great deal. It was a great read, but it was not my favorite book. I am not sure what I would change to make it better as it felt so complete and finished as it was. Instead I feel that I read the book too late in my life to enjoy it the way I would have if I was around the main character’s age. If I was 13 or 14 this book would have rocked my world as it was a book that would have helped me deal with similar issues.

All and all this book was a great read and I would recommend it to fans of YA literature or people that enjoy learning about queer history. This was the first YA gay novel that did not make homosexuality out as a perversion that could be fixed or as a terrible thing. It was followed a decade or so later with Annie on My Mind (which I was always lead to believe was the first YA gay novel). This book is truly a piece of history and should be respected as such. It may not compete with the more fast paced books that I am used to in terms of my love, but this book earned my respect and so did the author. The book was never glib (an increasing issue in YA gay novels) and was not a tale of “oh my gosh, am I gay?” that feels as if it has been played out over the past decade. Instead this book was well beyond its time and I wish it got more limelight in the libraries instead of some of the other books that have stolen the fame. I highly recommend this book. Please take the time to appreciate it, it will be hard not to if you like dogs, especially if you have ever had a dachshund.

UntitledUntitledUntitled

3 out of 5 stars. I recommend this book.

You can buy the book here.

~Isaiah

